We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Would you bring an expensive camera on your vacation?

Which Montego Bay hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Horseheads, NY
Level Contributor
25 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
Would you bring an expensive camera on your vacation?

Good morning all! Just looking for some opinions on if I should bring my Nikkon P100 with me on our vacation. On the one hand, I don't want to have to worry about it getting broken or stolen but on the other, I'm new to photography and I can't think of a more beautiful place to get some practice in! I also worry about getting through security with it as its semi-bulky and I don't know if the xray machines would somehow damage it? Just wondering if other people bring their big cameras to do some photography while on vacation. Thanks in advance! :)

suz
Derby, Connecticut
Destination Expert
for Ocho Rios
Level Contributor
4,682 posts
58 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Would you bring an expensive camera on your vacation?

I bring my expensive DSLR with me, including additional lenses - Not every trip - never had an issue through security with it - I definitely keep it with me in carry on, not ever checked - I have even argued with the flight attendant when they were having everyone check carry ons due to lack of space that unless they were willing to sign a waiver and accept the responsibility for the $100000s of camera equip in my bag, I wasn't checking it - Miraculously they found room for my bag.

I don't bring it to the beach with me if I plan to swim / laze around - I bring a cheap point and shoot for that - and take care to lock it, keep it in a safe case, etc...

Monroe, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
83 posts
82 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Would you bring an expensive camera on your vacation?