We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Inflatable Noodle/ other device

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
57 posts
26 reviews
Save Topic
Inflatable Noodle/ other device

Ok I know that this is a silly question but I have never done this before and I have to ask. I see many post encouraging packing an inflatable noodle or spring float. Yes I am laughing as I ask this question.. How do you keep from floating to far away into the ocean ? Are you treading with your feet ? Clearly I do not swim often. ..lol

.. Maybe if I have to ask the question - I should avoid the flotation device!

Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level Contributor
3,928 posts
48 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Inflatable Noodle/ other device

Well if you are staying in Negril the water is pretty calm. I pack a blow up air mattress and usually float down stream, not out to Cuba!! LOL no worries!! We also use them in the pool!!!

Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
1,307 posts
66 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Inflatable Noodle/ other device

I've bought ours for our October trip - and we'll be leaving them at the resort when we (sadly) have to return home.

Connecticut
Level Contributor
11,134 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Inflatable Noodle/ other device

Many resorts have a roped swimming area (rope secured on the bottom and floated with pontunes). So if you bump into the rope, you can hang on or start the leaisurely swim closer to the shore.

Generally these ropes are about 20 yards, max, from the shore line.

The resorts post green/yellow/red flags along the beach with the red flag meaning that the water is closed.

You have to work hard to float to far away from the shore.

Level Contributor
1,896 posts
Save Reply
4. Re: Inflatable Noodle/ other device

countdowncrazy