We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Traveling to Great Huts

Somerville...
Level Contributor
8 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Traveling to Great Huts

Hi there!

My boyfriend and I are hoping to travel to Great Huts in Port Antonio, Jamaica in January 2015. We are two pretty active thirty somethings that are hoping to fly into Kingston on a Friday night and rent a car to drive to Port Antonio on Saturday morning. We will stay at Great Huts until Thursday morning then drive up to Montego Bay or Negril and fly out of Montego Bay Airport on Saturday morning. I am an experienced driver living in downtown Boston and have driven in Mexico, London, Ireland and NYC. I was hoping to get ideas, opinions, past experience stories and travel tips on our hopeful itinerary. We do not have a hotel or place picked out to stay in our last nights in Jamaica or in Kingston and are open to all suggestions! Also, a reputable car rental company would be super helpful. I have been to Ocho Rios Jamaica once before (though I did not drive) and would really like to stay at Great Huts in Port Antonio and see the Blue Mountains as Ocho Rios was a bit touristy with all of the cruise ships. Any and all suggestions and advice regarding our trip would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!!

Mentioned in this post
Great Huts
Great Huts
848 Reviews
Jamaica
Kingston
Kingston
Jamaica
Negril
Negril
Jamaica
Boston
Boston
Massachusetts
Mexico
Mexico
North America
Jamaica
Jamaica
Caribbean
Ocho Rios
Ocho Rios
Jamaica
Blue Mountains
Blue Mountains
328 Reviews
Jamaica
Apache Junction...
Destination Expert
for Montego Bay
Level Contributor
10,690 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Traveling to Great Huts

You will probably do ok driving in Jamaica. Just be prepared for the lack of signage on the roads.