We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Morning Excursions

Cedarburg, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
442 posts
67 reviews
Save Topic
Morning Excursions

We will be at Wyndam Rio Mar the beginning of May for 3 nights. My husband will attend meetings leaving me to fend for myself Monday-Wednesday until about 1 PM. Hanging out near a pool or even on a beach for 3 mornings is not really my thing. Any suggestions for short day trips? I do like to hike but as the big 6-0 is in my near future, don't like going alone. We will rent a car and I'm a relatively fearless driver. (We've planned an afternoon in OSJ and El Yunque together.)

We are planning on spending the last 4 days on Culebra though haven't booked lodging yet. Can anyone tell me if there is much hiking other than walking the roads or the beaches. And, umm, the whole "Culebra means snake" thing is just a joke, right?

Mentioned in this post
Ciales, PR
Level Contributor
287 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Morning Excursions

Here is a short day trip.

Las Cabezas de San Juan Nature Reserve in Fajardo, which is fairly close to Rio Mar. They offer guided tours. You will need to make reservations at: Puerto Rico Conservation Trust-

Reservations and information:

Tel. 787.722.5882 (Monday thru Friday)

Tel. 787.860.2560 / 787.860.2562 (Weekends and Holidays)

Mentioned in this post
San Juan
San Juan
Puerto Rico
Humacao Nature Reserve
Humacao Nature Reserve
213 Reviews
Puerto Rico
Fajardo
Fajardo
Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico
Puerto Rico
Caribbean
El Yunque National...
Destination Expert
for Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5,882 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Morning Excursions

Well, the problem is you are alone and have limited time.