We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Studying Spanish in Puerto Rico

Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
2 posts
9 reviews
Save Topic
Studying Spanish in Puerto Rico

Hi everyone,

I saw a post from someone a couple months ago about this same topic, but I wanted to know of any new updates. I've studied Spanish in high school but have forgotten most of it. 2 years ago, I studied abroad in Ecuador for 3 weeks and learned a lot (probably more than I did in high school) because I was immersed in the culture and practicing constantly. I'm a speech therapist and have worked with a lot of interpreters with spanish speaking clients so I've kept up my spanish skills this way along with joining Spanish groups on meetup.com

I visited Puerto Rico 2 weeks ago and loved it. The island is beautiful! I love the history and cultural environment. I did find with some locals that if I tried to speak spanish, they would speak English back. Has anyone studied abroad in Puerto Rico and found this as well? What advice do you have as far as studying here? do you recommend it? I would like to go back to explore more of the island. Also, I can get a really great discount fair through my Uncle who works for the airline so that's another reason I'd like to go there. If I go to another country, the airline ticket would cost probably around $1000.

Thanks for the help!

Cleves, Ohio
Level Contributor
1,686 posts
127 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Studying Spanish in Puerto Rico