We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Young honeymooners looking for fun on the island

San Antonio, TX =)
9 posts
Save Topic
Young honeymooners looking for fun on the island

We are a young couple, both 22, and booked a reservation at the rio mar beach hotel. we would love suggestions on where to go for drinks and latin dancing (bachata, merengue, salsa, reggaeton). We are interested in venues that attract a young crowd. We did book a car rental so transportation is not a problem. Im a college student and hes a soldier so we are looking for some hip and fun places to drink and dance the night away. Thanks yall. =)

El Yunque National...
Destination Expert
for Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
5,814 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Young honeymooners looking for fun on the island

Well..... Rio Mar might have been a mistake. Not much night life in Rio Grande!

You will have to drive into Isla Verde area- there you will find great stuff!

El San JUan Hotel has a very nice club, also the roof top at Water Club.

Old San Juan also is alive at night. Nuyourican Cafe- very hip.

But be careful with drinking and driving- it is about 1 hr drive with plenty of lives and cops in between.

San Antonio, TX =)
9 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Young honeymooners looking for fun on the island

=) we dont mind the drive. we fell in love with the natural surroundings that rio grande has to offer. He has stayed in SJ (condado plaza) during his days as a batchelor and he was disappointed by what he saw. he imagined PR as a lush tropical island, which it is of course in the right areas. So instead of staying in the city for our honeymoon we chose this spot. Relax in the rural area during the day and party out at night in the city. Perfect.