We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Which BioBay tour is best?

MA
Level Contributor
11 posts
61 reviews
Save Topic
Which BioBay tour is best?

My husband & I are staying in Vieques in February with another couple. I have read multiple articles & reviews about the bio bay tour companies, and need some advice. The clear canoes sound fabulous (Vieques Adventure Company) but the owner seems a little rude in his TA responses. The other one that looks intriguing is Abe's, but his kayaks are not clear. Are the VAC canoes meant for 2 people? I'm not experienced on the water, so would prefer to have someone else with me. Also, are the later tours better than the earlier tours? I would presume so, but haven't seen much about that. All advice is welcome!

Menlo Park...
Level Contributor
5,348 posts
87 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Which BioBay tour is best?

We're planning our first trip to V in 3 weeks, so I can;t answer from first-hand experience. But it looks like the VAC clear canoes are a bit deeper and less streamlined than your basic sit-aboard kayak. Not really a canoe but a pram boat, from the pictures. So it would be more stable but not as fast. I have had problems with the stability of sit-aboard kayaks, especially at night, which is why we chose VAC. They are the most expensive. I note that all the services seem to get fantastic and horrible reviews. SO go figure. It bothers me that some folks relate that they were allowed or encouraged to swim there, when that's clearly against the rules. A company that would risk the health of such a fragile ecosystem for a small personal gain is not someone I want to deal with, and I'd be glad to see them out of business. WE're on for the new moon, Jan 30.

Lancaster PA
Level Contributor
258 posts
13 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Which BioBay tour is best?