We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Driving in St Lucia

westchester, NY
Level Contributor
5 posts
16 reviews
Save Topic
Driving in St Lucia

Just survived a white-knuckle drive around the island, culminating in two hours in the dark from Soufrire to Rodney Bay. Previous replies to posts asking about driving here have asserted that "any confident driver will be fine," but between the road damage from the last hurricane that washed out sections of the road from Castries to Dennery, making the road single-lane in many places, and the incredible switchbacks and steepness of the road from Soufrire to Castries, driving here is very challenging indeed. Given how expensive renting a car here is, if we were to do it again, we would take taxis. I am an average driver, and I would have been sunk; my husband is an excellent driver, and he's exhausted. Before you decide to rent a car, look at the map of the road around Canaries.

Toronto
Level Contributor
5,123 posts
54 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Driving in St Lucia

Driving in St Lucia is challenging. I drove that section of hurricane damaged roadway after dark - it is very challenging - I would have turned around but there was no place to do so safely. I normally advise people that driving from Soufriere to Castries after dark is not easy - no overhead lights and lots of hairpins, etc. Now you know why many people prefer not to drive in St Lucia. I also advise people to see what the roads are like before deciding to rent. And as much as rentals are expensive, taxi fares can really add up for short jaunts, but if you hire a taxi for a day rates are pretty reasonable. Glad to hear you survived ok and I hope you had a great time!

BC
Level Contributor
233 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Driving in St Lucia