We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Luggage / Beer / Ferry ?

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
353 posts
33 reviews
Save Topic
Luggage / Beer / Ferry ?

Newbie here and I have to say - wow - there are a lot of ferry questions on this forum - and within the search section I still came up empty!!

We locked in a pretty good airfare to STT a couple weeks ago and finally decided on Virgin Gorda. Looks like the only viable option on a Friday is taking the ferry from Charlotte Amalie to Road Town to Virgin Gorda if I am reading the schedules correctly.

Do any of the ferries charge a baggage/luggage fee?

I have a taste for Virgin Islands Summer Ale beer. Doesn’t look like it is available in the BVI’s. Is it possible to pick-up a case in CA and bring it on the ferries? Has anyone done this?

For my first questions in the BVI’s I think I have my priorities set. . .

Thanks a bunch.

ACB
Rhode Island
Destination Expert
for Virgin Gorda
Level Contributor
2,787 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Luggage / Beer / Ferry ?

You do have your priorities straight...:).

You are only allowed to bring two (2) litres of alcohol into the BVI:

www.caribbean.com/jsp/travelInfo.jsp…

Higher end beer is relatively difficult to find. We consider ourselves fortunate if we find Stella.

The ferries in the BVI do not charge a baggage fee:

bestofbvi.com/info/bviferry_tortola_sttCA.htm

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
353 posts
33 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Luggage / Beer / Ferry ?

Very helpful link - Red Stripe it is.

Tortola
3 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Luggage / Beer / Ferry ?

Greetings!