We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Best Stingray City Tour?

Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
66 posts
10 reviews
Save Topic
Best Stingray City Tour?

I am looking for Stingray City tour suggestions. I would prefer to go with a company that doesn't take too big of crowds as I want as much time as possible in the water. Any suggestions for small tour company?

Thanks!

Level Contributor
3,512 posts
112 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Best Stingray City Tour?

Are you looking for Stingray City - the dive site, or Stingray Sandbar - where most of the stingray activity takes place in @ 3 feet of water?

Though I have no experience with any of the other operators, Capt Dexter has a trimaran that takes 15-20 people to stingray sandbar and also a snorkel stop at the coral gardens. Our boat was closely followed by a large Red Sail boat (appeared to have 50+ people on it) to both of our stops (the Red Sail ship arrived at both places @ 10 minutes after us).

…bookwood.com/dextersfantaseatours/

Virginia Beach...
Level Contributor
547 posts
24 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Best Stingray City Tour?

We went with Ambassador Divers and thought they did a good job. The tour took us to Stingray City Sandbar, Barrier Reef, and Coral Gardens. We saw a lot of fish and I especially liked the Barrier Reef a lot, beautiful coral and a lot f fish. There were only six of us and the guide, nice small group. Last year we went with a different goup and thought this was much better, it just depends on what you are looking for. I have read great things about Ocean Frontiers and we went on a snorkel trip with them which we really enjoyed. I think both of these companies take small groups. Have fun!

Lexington, KY
Level Contributor
66 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Best Stingray City Tour?