We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Are the waters on Seven Mile Beach rough?

Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 posts
27 reviews
Save Topic
Are the waters on Seven Mile Beach rough?

Hello! Thinking of traveling to GC end of June with my husband, 7 and 9 year old, and am wondering if the surf off 7 Mile Beach is calm enough usually for well supervised children, or if another part of the island would be better.

I am just beginning my research, but I don't want to cross busy streets with little ones, and am thinking of trying to get by with bus transportation or renting a car for only a day or two.

But mostly I am wondering about how rough the water is off 7 mile beach.

Thank you!

chicago suburbs
Destination Expert
for Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
3,584 posts
20 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Are the waters on Seven Mile Beach rough?

The water is usually nice and calm unless a storm should happen to whip up the surf! Great for kids :-)

Grand Cayman
Destination Expert
for Grand Cayman
Level Contributor
9,263 posts
69 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Are the waters on Seven Mile Beach rough?

We have been staying in the area for 20 years sometimes several times a year. The only times we saw it stirred up was during Hurricane Emily and TS Dean. We were diving again a day and half after Emily when the boats were brought back from safe harbor. It is usually like glass. Actually for the most of the island is protected by a barrier reef so it is great. Sometimes during winter months the East End can be subject to wind.