We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Car rental vs. taxi/bus

Level Contributor
12 posts
4 reviews
Save Topic
Car rental vs. taxi/bus

Hello all,

We are headed to Bequia in late June of this year, and are looking at transportation options once we arrive. We are staying in a Villa on Industry Bay, and plan on visiting other beaches as well. We would also need to get groceries, and just plain old explore a bit. There will be 8-11 of us, and of course it would be convenient to have vehicles at the ready... but would it be worth it? How reliable/expensive are the taxi services? Does the bus go anywhere near Industry Bay? I have to admit I drive for a living and like to explore new places very much, but I thought I would put the question out there and see what everyone had to say.

Thanks in advance for your help!

Bequia
Level Contributor
100 posts
90 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Car rental vs. taxi/bus

Call Challenger Taxi. Curtis and/or Sandra are expert drivers, expert on the island, and will take you wherever you want to go.

Innisfil, Ontario...
Level Contributor
54 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Car rental vs. taxi/bus

The problem is the amount of people you have, won't find anything larger that a 5 seater for rent. Industry is way out there and no bus service I know of. If you are only going into town 1 time a day, use a taxi, find someone you like, there are many and everyone seems to have their favourite, get there cell and give them 15-30 mins and they will look after you. Depending on where I stay, sometimes I rent a car, but there is only 2-3 of us. A taxi will take you on an island tour at a reasonable cost as well and show you everything you want to see that you might miss on your own.

Hope this helps

Level Contributor
12 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Car rental vs. taxi/bus