We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

August weather - please advise!!

northampton, uk
Level Contributor
36 posts
25 reviews
Save Topic
August weather - please advise!!

Hi - itching to go to Tobago and looking at August - its hard for me other times as teacher so tied to school hols.

Anyway, whats the weather like? Its the wet season, right? meaning what? Im imagining blue skies, humidity and intermittent torrential downpours.

Its my first time ever to the Caribbean and i want blue sky at least !!

Thank you............looking forward to it already, so cannot wait, will shutup now..............

Level Contributor
1,896 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: August weather - please advise!!

The weather pattern has been changing for the past 20 years and it's almost impossible to predict.We have had lots of rain in the dry season and no rain in the wet season some years.

northampton, uk
Level Contributor
36 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: August weather - please advise!!

OK - great, thanks for your reply . Am seriously excited about this trip!

Trinidad
Level Contributor
831 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: August weather - please advise!!

Usually the rain comes in short thundershowers that generally blow over quickly. Not like london rain..... The rain should not stop you from doing any activity. If you get wet....well you are on vacation....the water is warm, so enjoy it.

It will usually rain in the afternoon between 12noon and 2pm. Typical convenctional rain showers which help cool down the place. There is humidity, but it is not stifiling.

Don't let overcast day stop you from going to the beach. You might be glad for some cloud cover to protect you from the sun. Remember you can still get sunburn on overcast day, so use your sun block.

Level Contributor
1,896 posts
3 reviews