We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

How do I get over my fear of driving on the left?

dallas
Level Contributor
145 posts
115 reviews
Save Topic
How do I get over my fear of driving on the left?

I'd love to explore T & C from behind the wheel of a car, but it freaks me out to sit in a car driving down the left side of the road. I can't imagine driving! I've been driving for 30 years and I'd like to think I'm capable of learning new things. I'm just afraid driving on the right is so ingrained I'll revert to old habits at just the wrong time. Please, someone tell me driving on the left is easy and I shouldn't worry! Or, if necessary, tell me to stick to a cab.

Thanks!

Canandaigua, New...
Level Contributor
7,365 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: How do I get over my fear of driving on the left?

Just stick to one or two cocktails for dinner....and you should be fine! lol

Mike

Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
478 posts
7 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: How do I get over my fear of driving on the left?

You'll be fine. Id be more worried about the round a bouts if you're not used to those!

Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3,524 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: How do I get over my fear of driving on the left?

For many trips, I was afraid to drive on the left and now I love it and drive us everywhere while we are down there.

Best advice I can give is rent a vehicle with the steering wheel on the right, then just keep the right front wheel in line with the middle line in the road. As soon as you're out in traffic, you get the hang of it as you are going with the flow of traffic.

Good luck!!

Milltown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2,394 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: How do I get over my fear of driving on the left?

I joke with Dan that he drives better on the left.lol