We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Realistic Crime Concerns on St. John

Which St. John hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Parkton Md
Level Contributor
120 posts
14 reviews
Save Topic
Realistic Crime Concerns on St. John

We leave next week for our trip to St.John and will be staying at a rental villa on Gift Hill. We are really looking forward to this trip, but the more I look into some of the crime issues the more concerned I become. This is just a family trip so we won`t be out at night or doing anything stupid, just hitting the beaches and staying at the villa at night. I hear that there have been a number of B&E`s on the island, and that some have taken place at night when the occupants are home. This concerns me as I am a vetern Law Enforcement Officer and was hoping to not worry about having a weapon on vacation.

I hope this information is just internet BS and is just being blown out of proportion.

Any first hand knowledge of the crime issue would be appreciated and any link with current crime stats would be great. I could not find any links for current crime stats on the island and I`m sure they don`t want that info. getting out in fear of hurting the tourist industry.

We will still enjoy our stay on the island and will just stay alert and aware like we do at home.

Thanks for any info.

stj
1 post
Save Reply
1. Re: Realistic Crime Concerns on St. John

keep your strap and your family safe at home...

CT
Destination Expert
for St. John
Level Contributor
5,637 posts
23 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Realistic Crime Concerns on St. John

I have not seen any recent crime reports so I am wondering where you are getting your information.

That is not to say that crime does not happen, but it is not an everyday occurence by any means and I have not seen any recent reports.