We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Wooden Jettys

Strandhill, Ireland
Level Contributor
519 posts
344 reviews
Save Topic
Wooden Jettys

Hi, just trying to find out from anyone who knows Great Exuma well, if there are any proper wooden jettys, which are accessible to the public, but not surrounded by buildings. I'm looking to get some nice photographs of one (i'm a photographer) when we head over in November, and the one on Hamburger beach was top of the list until I seen some recent pictures of it with not very nice white struts which make it look really new. I photographed it in 2008 when it was all wooden and it looked really cool.

Would love to know...thanks!

New York
Level Contributor
176 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Wooden Jettys

Oh, Jettys = Docks. Many were rebuilt after the Hurricane last year. The ones you saw in 2008 have changed.

Strandhill, Ireland
Level Contributor
519 posts
344 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Wooden Jettys

Yes, jetty = docks, sorry about that!! Never even thought about the weather situation....thanks for that. Will explore anyway when we get there. Thanks!

exuma
Level Contributor
298 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Wooden Jettys

There are 2 docks on Stocking island. One is used by the ferry going back and forth to Big D's new restaurant and that has plastic posts.

The second is 300 yards away and is more picturesque (its below the monument)

Strandhill, Ireland
Level Contributor
519 posts
344 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Wooden Jettys

Thanks Exumadolphin! Will check out the one below the monument!

Strandhill, Ireland
Level Contributor
519 posts
344 reviews
Save Reply
5. Re: Wooden Jettys