We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

RCI exchange

Royal Oak, MI
Level Contributor
35 posts
1 review
Save Topic
RCI exchange

As mentioned in another thread, I'm booked at Velas Vallarta through an RCI exchange in June/July. I'm concerned about some review comments I've read on sales tactics.there I'm new with RCI exchanges having only done my first last July (in Cancun):

At that time, despite confirming on the phone before my arrival and having official confirmation paperwork in hand, upon arrival they claimed they didn't have me arriving until the next day and had no room for me. I was put in the "time share" sales room and once I agreed to do their presentation, they magically gave me a nice ocean view room. They leaned on me hard in the presentation to buy. And mind you, I'm already an RCI owner! Do they expect I should buy a new property every year?? Seems like RCI owners would be left alone when they target fresh meat to prey on. Does anyone think using the airport transport they offer tips them off to put you on this "pressure list". I guess I sound paranoid by now but note they only offer the airport transport on arrival, not departure! If paying for a cab keeps me below the radar, might be worth it. Again, the above experience was at a different resort (GR Solaris) in Cancun, NOT Velas but just wondering what I'm in for and the best way to do things this next time around...Thanks for any advice!

Minneapolis...
Destination Expert
for Puerto Vallarta
Level Contributor
5,190 posts
147 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: RCI exchange