We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

how safe is it in Zihuatanejo?

San Francisco
2 posts
Save Topic
how safe is it in Zihuatanejo?

Going for christmas vacation and am concerned with the unrest going on in the rest of the country. How safe is it walking around at night or taking cabs?

Lewiston, California
Level Contributor
9,609 posts
74 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: how safe is it in Zihuatanejo?

Well certainly safer than Hunters Point, West Oakland or the Mission at night.

I have been hanging in Zihua for a number of years for 3 months or more each winter with never a problem. In fact in 23 years of Mexican with never a problem following a few rules.

1. I am polite to all

2. I never flash money

3. I do not drink BUT if you indulge do not get wasted & wander the streets.

4 I do not go where I do not belong. In Zihua that;s North of Jose Morelos the area behind the Elektra Store.

That's it. As I say I have traveled the length & breath of Mexico by bus, car & foot never having a problem. I have been in cities (IE Lazaro Cardenas) where I have been the Only gringo in town. I have been invited into peoples homes for dinner or on a couple occasions to spend the night.

So relax & enjoy using normal city smarts.

Minnesota
Level Contributor
5,812 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: how safe is it in Zihuatanejo?

Ditto the above!

Keith

San Miguel de...
Level Contributor
4,923 posts
47 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: how safe is it in Zihuatanejo?

Quite safe!

We were there 12 - 18 Dec.

Never considered any risk.

M

Chapala, Mexico
Destination Expert
for Chapala, Puerto Vallarta, Nuevo Vallarta, Ajijic, Chapala
Level Contributor
12,050 posts
466 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: how safe is it in Zihuatanejo?