We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Guanajuato or San Miguel de Allende

ago
Branford, CT
Level Contributor
199 posts
33 reviews
Save Topic
Guanajuato or San Miguel de Allende

I am a well travelled college professor who likes the exotic and interesting. I am interested in taking Spanish lessons for a week Oct31-Nov.4 and am trying to decide between these two locations.

Any recommendations?

Thanks for any input.

AGO

Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
7,553 posts
83 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Guanajuato or San Miguel de Allende

Both are nice places to visit - colonial, rich history, small enough to maneuver on foot, etc. With just one week to study, it might not make any difference which of the two you choose. SMA is known as one of the two principal locations in Mexico for language training (Cuernavaca being the other). There are more learning opportunities/choices there. So, I recommend SMA (and, it's the location I chose for my studies). You'll be in the area for the Dia de los Muertos (Day of the Dead) observance, a special time of year - and you can observe and/or participate in either of the two cities.

New York, NY
Level Contributor
206 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Guanajuato or San Miguel de Allende

A vote for Guanajuato -- larger city, fewer Americans and just totally enchanting and magical, so many places to get lost in. Of course not everybody fancies getting lost!

Phoenix
Level Contributor
145 posts
11 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Guanajuato or San Miguel de Allende