We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Good or bad, you decide

Haverhill...
Level Contributor
1,161 posts
67 reviews
Save Topic
Good or bad, you decide

I've been hitting this site for a couple of years now, and I'm always left scratching my head.

Sometimes the reviews are all over the place, for example, I stayed in the Playa Del Carmen region last year, after sorting thru all the reviews, I finally picked a place to stay.

It was rated 3 stars....some good reviews, and some horror stories....who to believe??

I'm sure we all would love to stay at 5 star resorts, but the reality is, I can't afford it with a wife and two kids, so I roll the dice and hope for the best, and for me, it turned out great. Yeh we had a few bumps in the road, but nothing to ruin our family vacation.

Judging by some of the reviews, I'm not sure if some people's expectations are just unrealistic, but for me and others who are left relying on their words, you get scared away from some places.

Bottom line: who to believe??

Barrie
Level Contributor
724 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Good or bad, you decide

There are as many opinions as there are people; probably more.

The reviews are helpful in narrowing down what is important to us. We couldn't give a rat's ... about a transfer; some go on and on about it. It is important to us for pool, bars, snacks and beach to be close together (3 kids; rarely common wants at one time) - to have that, we will sacrifice grandeur lobbies, kiss-a.. staff and minibars for that anytime. For some, an opposite is preferred. Some like waves; others calm, shallow water. That is why reviews are important. We also find plenty of good 3* better for us than some 5*.

Minnesota
Level Contributor
537 posts
68 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Good or bad, you decide