We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Honest Cancun Report -- RPLA

Which Cancun hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
San Francisco...
Level Contributor
24 posts
Save Topic
Honest Cancun Report -- RPLA

Hi. I read a lot of posts here before I went to Cancun (11/24 - 11/30) and some were true and some were not. This makes me think many are by hotel operators, etc. that are tying to get people to come. If I'm wrong, I'm sorry, but there were definitely some false reports that I read on this site (such as the fact that the Riu Cancun was open, which it was not).

With that said, I am a true traveler (my day job is as a lawyer in CA) and hopefully people will find this report helpful.

As I noted above, I was in Cancun last week. My finance and I stayed at the Riu Palace Las Americas (being transferred there b/c the Riu Cancun was not open). If people want to see pictures of this hotel (the RPLA), look at any pictures pre-Wilma and take away a couple of the palm trees. Other than that, you CAN NOT tell this hotel went through a hurricane. It is beautiful, the grounds are beautiful and the beach is great. Plenty of room to walk / play, and the Riu Cancun beach right next door is even larger and fully accessible. While I'm on the hotel, the staff is great, the rooms are great (we had a wrap around balcony and three windows!) and the food was very good.