We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Have you already bought airline tix for Dec./Jan??

Which Cancun hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
San Diego
Destination Expert
for San Diego
Level Contributor
60,748 posts
67 reviews
Save Topic
Have you already bought airline tix for Dec./Jan??

Hi,

Just trying to gauge how far in advance is usual to buy tix to Cancun?

This is my first time flying into Mexico. I know that airlines have been consolidating and cutting flights sooo I hate to buy tooo far in advance and then have them cancel my flight.

<sigh> I know no one has a crystal ball but just wondering??

KANSAS
Level Contributor
998 posts
48 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Have you already bought airline tix for Dec./Jan??

I have bought my tickets for February. If they cancel your flight they should rebook you on a comparable. I booked last month with a hotel/flight package through Expedia. My flight is through United, and it has already changed 3 times. So far it is just getting better and better. We were due to fly home at 7 am... now we are flying out at 10:50am. Much better to get to the airport at 8 am than 5 am ;0)

KANSAS
Level Contributor
998 posts
48 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Have you already bought airline tix for Dec./Jan??

I should also say... this is not something I would normally do. We got a grand opening deal for Secrets the Vine so I jumped on it. Normally I would wait for the non-stop flights to be published through Frontier. This normally happens in July or August. for flights out of Kansas City.

San Diego
Destination Expert
for San Diego
Level Contributor
60,748 posts
67 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Have you already bought airline tix for Dec./Jan??