We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Hotels are booked! Now need your help for Dec 23rd-29th

Which Cancun hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
279 posts
88 reviews
Save Topic
Hotels are booked! Now need your help for Dec 23rd-29th

Hello my fellow Cancun/Riviera Maya travelers! Super excited as this is my first time to the eastern side of Mexico! After much searching, I finally have my rooms for 6 nights. Dec 23rd/24th at the Royal PDC, 25th and 26th at the Hard Rock Riviera Maya and the 27th/28th in the Cancun Hotel Zone. 3 neighborhoods/6 nights. Any help or advice you can give for a first time traveler. I have rented a car. I have rooms booked at all AI's (I know, bummer--totally against my travel style--but when in Rome). Can you please tell me what to expect, what to hope for and what to do while there. I hate shopping. I love adventures. Should I take a boat to Cozumel for one day? Should I drive to Tulum? Should I worry about driving in Mexico? Should I hit one bar or restaurant in Playa or Cancun that is thru the roof? xoxo

Texas
Destination Expert
for Riviera Maya, Yucatan Peninsula
Level Contributor
4,501 posts
36 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Hotels are booked! Now need your help for Dec 23rd-29th

Ok, where to start? That's a lot of resorts in that many days. Most people don't change hotels that much.

The Royal PDC is right in town. You will be able to walk around to explore/eat/drink easily and will not need your car.

The Hard Rock is newly renovated. Are you staying on the family side, or the adult only "heaven"side? Many recent reports say this newly refurbished resort is still under quite a bit of construction. The Hard Rock Riv Maya is south of PDC so if you wanted to go to Tulum Id do it from there.

Chicago, Illinois