We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Any cancellations after the Sept 4, 2011 diving incident?

Which Cozumel hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Colo Spgs
Destination Expert
for Cozumel
Level Contributor
27,990 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Any cancellations after the Sept 4, 2011 diving incident?

Three people attempted a very risky deep air dive. End result is that all three had to take chamber rides. One diver reported that they were pushed deep by a downwelling/down current. That report has since been invalidated.

Did anyone cancel their trip (perhaps to dive) to Cozumel because of the incident or report of a rogue down current?

My opinion: the down current report never seemed realistic to me. I have been diving in Cozumel for many years and my limited trips there have never raised issues about diving safety. So cancelling a dive trip there would be a mistake.

ds2
Cozumel, Mexico
Destination Expert
for Cozumel
Level Contributor
4,044 posts
12 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Any cancellations after the Sept 4, 2011 diving incident?

Factual correction: Date of incident was 3 Sept.

Have not heard that this effected demand for diving.

Arkansas
Level Contributor
80 posts
Save Reply
2. Re: Any cancellations after the Sept 4, 2011 diving incident?

It wasn't due to a downcurrent and no, I haven't canceled my trip.

MKE
Level Contributor
63 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: Any cancellations after the Sept 4, 2011 diving incident?

IF I had a vendetta against the dive op in question, I'd probably make internet posts stating that I was going to change my vacation plans.

Thankfully, that's not the case. (I've used the op before, and I'll probably use them again based on the quality of the Captains and DMs. I'd also recommend them to my friends and family without reservation).

Texas