We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Beginner Surfing in Cozumel in December

Which Cozumel hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Burnaby, British...
3 posts
Save Topic
Beginner Surfing in Cozumel in December

Hi, I am going to Cancun this December,with my boyfriend, but as I know there is no surfing in Cancun, so I wonder if the waves in Cozumel in December are high enough for beginners surfing? I never done surfing but I really want to try and I think as a beginner I don't need to have super waves but enough tall to surf ( NOT boogie boarding)

Also I read some opinions that the beaches in Cozumel are dangerous ( rocky and ets) and many other controversial opinions... If anybody can clarify the situation for me?

If Cozumel is not suitable for beginner surfing than which places are suitable( in December in Mexico or California) I would prefer not far from Cancun if it is possible.

Thank you for info

Minneapolis...
Level Contributor
3,350 posts
42 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Beginner Surfing in Cozumel in December

I don't know where you should go...but I know that there is no surf for surfing in Cozumel. There is minor surf on the far side of the island, but the undertow is very bad and its dangerous to go in the water there. I think if you want to surf, you need to stick with California.

New York City, New...
Level Contributor
908 posts
16 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Beginner Surfing in Cozumel in December

Nacho Guiterrez (pardon the spelling) teaches surfing in Cozumel. There is surfing on the "wild" side of the island. I don't think Nacho has a web site but here a link to his Facebook page https:/…

Send him a message!

Cozumel, Mexico
Destination Expert
for Cozumel
Level Contributor
6,482 posts
37 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Beginner Surfing in Cozumel in December