We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Great Driver in Cozumel, Mexico

Dallas, Texas
7 posts
Save Topic
Great Driver in Cozumel, Mexico

We lucked into a wonderful taxi driver in Cozumel who took us on an island tour. He spoke English well (self-taught), was interested in doing exactly what we wanted to do, and gave us more time than originally agreed without charging extra (of course, we paid him more). He was so friendly and courteous. He took pictures of us, answered all our questions, translated for us when we needed him to, and even left his car running on short stops to keep it cool for us. At our request, he took us to a super restaurant where locals would eat and he wouldn't even let us buy him food! Can't say enough good things about him - we will definitely use him next time we go. Manuel Zapata Cepeda, palapa52@hotmail.com; cell 044 987 118 87 22; palapa taxi 25.

Vancouver
Destination Expert
for Akumal, Riviera Maya, Quintana Roo, Puerto Morelos
Level Contributor
43,387 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Great Driver in Cozumel, Mexico

tell us more

where is this super local restaurant - where else did you go

Cozumel, Mexico
Destination Expert
for Cozumel, Merida
Level Contributor
44,047 posts
137 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Great Driver in Cozumel, Mexico

And how unusual, he let you buy him food, ha ha. Really, in spite of the taxi unions bad reputation, many nice taxi drivers.

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
72 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Great Driver in Cozumel, Mexico

How much did he charge per hour?

Cozumel, Mexico
Destination Expert
for Cozumel, Merida
Level Contributor
44,047 posts
137 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Great Driver in Cozumel, Mexico

And sorry, I did not read correctly. Its nice to see he didn´t let you buy food.

Monument, Colorado
Level Contributor
891 posts