We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Kiddos on whale shark trip

Texas
4 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Kiddos on whale shark trip

Has anyone taken a toddler(4 1/2yrs old) out on the whale shark trip? Not to swim, only ride on the boat- a larger boat. Worried about them getting seasick. Doctor said we can take Dramamine. Suggestions or thoughts?

Chicago, Illinois
Destination Expert
for Isla Mujeres
Level Contributor
10,408 posts
162 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Kiddos on whale shark trip

Every kid is different so it's hard to state any hard and fast rules. Bear in mind the ride out and back is between 90 minutes and 2 hours each way, with little to do but gaze out over the beautiful Caribbean. Your child may or may not be patient enough for this. I have no experience with seasickness medication with small kids, but if your doctor says it's OK that's a qualified recommendation. Most operators charge the standard rate for all passengers, whether they get into the water or not, so that's another issue to consider.

If I was confined to a whale shark boat for several hours with somebody else's cranky kid, I would not be happy. So I would err on the side of caution if you feel there's a chance your child may not be thrilled with the experience.

Calgary
Destination Expert
for Akumal, Riviera Maya, Cancun
Level Contributor
24,042 posts
9 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Kiddos on whale shark trip

"If I was confined to a whale shark boat for several hours with somebody else's cranky kid, I would not be happy."

True that!