We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

passport questions for an expert

maine
Level Contributor
664 posts
19 reviews
Save Topic
passport questions for an expert

Two questions for any State Dept. readers or experts:

Is it necessary to take your original passport with you on outings or will a copy do?

And, Are you required to surrend it to a local official if requested? When we were in Italy years ago, we made the mistake of surrenedering our passports, at the request of the local police, and then got hijacked for a lot of money to get them back. Do not want to repeat this experience!

Thanks for any advice!

Cozumel, Mexico
Destination Expert
for Cozumel, Merida
Level Contributor
45,497 posts
145 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: passport questions for an expert

I am not a passport expert but will give my opinion.

As far as taking it with you, if I venture far from home here, I take it. I have been in police and military checkpoints when traveling by bus and they wanted to see the original passport and the tourist card-(or in my case my FM3 residents visa)-not a copy. I would carry it.

I have never had anyone ask to keep it in other countries --or in Mexico--so cant advise about that.

maine
Level Contributor
664 posts
19 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: passport questions for an expert

Well, it was more along the lines of may we "see" your passport please. And then we had to pay to get it back once it was in their hands. BTW, it was a traffic stop.... we had done nothing wrong.

northwest
Level Contributor
167 posts
Save Reply
3. Re: passport questions for an expert

Are you sure they were police sounds more like mafia to me. Never give your passport to anyone. Hold it and let them look at it but never give it to anyone unless it is a border guard.

Calgary
Destination Expert