We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Technically left in the dark: dumb question

Which Playa del Carmen hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Halifax, Canada
Level Contributor
827 posts
69 reviews
Save Topic
Technically left in the dark: dumb question

Hi,

Can I download movies on my ipad and play them on a plane using my ear buds? The plane I am going on is so old I guess that it only has the little screens up on the ceiling. I think I'll go crazy without the ability to watch and control movies of my choice. I'm not tech savvy, obv, and am not sure if I can turn it on while flying?

Thanks,

Surf:)

Minneapolis
Level Contributor
396 posts
17 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Technically left in the dark: dumb question

Pretty sure you can after 10,000 ft. Some airlines let you the whole time. Even taxiing

Cincinnati, Ohio
Level Contributor
372 posts
5 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Technically left in the dark: dumb question

Yes, you can watch movies that are downloaded on your ipad in the plane. The rule has always been that you have to have electronic devices off when taking off and landing but can turn them on at cruising altitude. The last time I flew delta, they allowed you to have ipads on the entire flight, not sure if other airlines have changed yet or not.

San Jose, California
Destination Expert
for California
Level Contributor
14,958 posts
104 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Technically left in the dark: dumb question

Yes, the rules have changed about small electronics - they can be used on take off and landing now as well. Larger electronics such as laptops still cannot, but that is an issue of the potential for these to fly around the cabin and injure people should something happen or be in the way of people needing to evacuate the plane.

Calgary
Destination Expert