We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Jasper back to Vancouver? How?

London, United...
Level Contributor
38 posts
10 reviews
Save Topic
Jasper back to Vancouver? How?

I am taking the Rocky Mountaineer to Banff, then driving to Jasper. What's the best (fastest) route way back to Vancouver?

Calgary, Alberta...
Level Contributor
3,855 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Jasper back to Vancouver? How?

The fastest driving route is Jasper - Clearwater - Kamloops - Hope - Vancouver. It' 800 km. Map Quest gives the driving time as 9 hours (not counting stops), and Free Trip gives a time of 8 hours. I'm a fairly cautious driver, and I find that my actual driving times are consistent with Map Quest's.

Between Kamloops and Hope you drive on the Coquihalla Highway (Hwy #5), which is a toll road (C$10 per vehicle).

Hardly any of this route will overlap with the Rocky Mountaineer's route. Although you will have gone from Vancouver to Kamloops on your eastbound journey, the railway line will more or less have followed the TransCanada Highway's route through the Fraser River Canyon (via Lytton).

You can see the route map if you go to the Map Quest website and plug Jasper AB in as your starting point and Vancouver BC in as your end point.

www.mapquest.com