We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Calgary and Banff in Late November

Montgomery, Alabama
2 posts
Save Topic
Calgary and Banff in Late November

I'm flying to Calgary in late November and then either taking a bus or driving to Banff(most likely taking a bus because I'm not experienced with winter driving at all). I'll be there for about five days.

Is there usually enough snow for skiing by this time? And are there any other activites like dog sledding available in the area?

Also, I imagine the northern lights are hit and miss so far south but are there any areas that are best for catching a glimpse of them?

Mentioned in this post
Calgary
Calgary
Alberta, Canada
Banff
Banff
Banff National Park, Canada
4 replies to this topic
Calgary, Canada
Destination Expert
for Canadian Rockies
Level Contributor
7,803 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Calgary and Banff in Late November

Skiing would certainly be a possibility, though snow conditions can be mixed that early. Some years there's great early season snow, other year it's thin for a while. This year looks to be good, but it's too early to really tell.

Sunshine is usually the first to open - early to mid November, followed by Lake Louise. Quite often not all runs are open right away - the higher trails open first, with lower and/or steeper/rockier trails opening as conditions become safe. Note that there are world cup downhill ski races in Lake Louise the last week of November and first week of December - fun to watch, but there will be some run closures.