We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ferrying BC/Inside Passage & Driving to Aiyansh (northern BC

Vancouver
2 posts
Save Topic
Ferrying BC/Inside Passage & Driving to Aiyansh (northern BC

Hi there,

This is my first time posting on TripAdvisor so apologies if I have posted this to generally.

My mum's coming over to visit and is asking me questions which I have no idea how to answer. So, I'm putting this out to you, trusty TripAdvisor...advisors.

1. What do you know about going up the inside passage even as far as Juneaux Alaska? Do you have to catch the bus to Port Hardy on Vancouver Is or do ferries run there from town??

2. "To get to New Aiyanch it seems like you'd have to take the train 146km to The Terrace, then somehow detour up there, a man told us roads are OK and you can hire a car but we haven't checked that out yet. What do you know about the that being OK or plain foolhardy? Do you know what the daylight hours are now up in that area Of BC in Oct and Nov??"

Any advice is appreciated. I think Mum is planning on coming over mid-Oct.

Thanks!

Mentioned in this post
Port Hardy
Port Hardy
Vancouver Island, Canada
Vancouver
Vancouver
British Columbia, Canada
Terrace Beach Resort
Terrace Beach Resort
543 Reviews
Vancouver Island, Canada
Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver
Level Contributor
64,395 posts
62 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Ferrying BC/Inside Passage & Driving to Aiyansh (northern BC

Hi this1life. It's great to see you here on the BC forum.

The Alaska cruises have finished now until next May. They go from Vancouver up to Alaska.

However, BC Ferries, bcferries.com will take you from Port Hardy to Prince Rupert. You would have to get to Port Hardy at the north end of Van Island.