We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Is it worth stopping in Shuswap?

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
58 posts
10 reviews
Save Topic
Is it worth stopping in Shuswap?

Im a solo college student traveller, I'll be going from Vancouver to the Rockies, but I'm wondering if its worth paying for a tour that includes a night at Shuswap lake, or just take a greyhoud night bus straight to Banff instead?

Is it worth paying a little extra for the tour that includes Shuswap? I've already been to Kelowna... should I just skip it and spend more time on a Banff/Jasper tour instead?

Port Moody, Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
12,012 posts
145 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Is it worth stopping in Shuswap?

I wouldn't take the greyhound night bus..too much to see along the route! I'm also not sure I'd stop in Shuswap...what tour are you looking at? Moosebus?

Vancouver
Level Contributor
2,338 posts
59 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Is it worth stopping in Shuswap?

I wouldn't bother stopping there, unless you are with a tour group and have lake front access. It is basically a lake and some forested hills around it. Also if you are short on time obviously night travel will give you more time for activities.

Nanaimo, Canada
Destination Expert
for Nanaimo, Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
5,246 posts
426 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Is it worth stopping in Shuswap?

If it's the Moose Bus then I would do it. Great to meet people, see the scenery and there is a pub on the water in Sicamous. The night bus is long, uncomfortable and not super appealing (even when I was your age). Or get a deal on Westjet and fly!

Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
58 posts
10 reviews
Save Reply
4. Re: Is it worth stopping in Shuswap?

Thanks for the replies!