We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

gypsy gps apps

Leicester
Level Contributor
10 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
gypsy gps apps

hi

Will be driving through the Canadian Rockies in June visiting from UK. I intend downloading Gypsy GPS apps on to my Apple mini cellular i pad. As I have just purchased this product and myself and my wife are 63 years old we are not sure how we get the apps to work do I need to be connected to a network,such as 3g or 4g in Canada.I have read in some posts that my i pad should have a GPS chip in it.If it has do I still need network connection.If I need a network can anybody suggest any

Mentioned in this post
Canada
Canada
North America
seattle
Destination Expert
for Seattle
Level Contributor
19,868 posts
108 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: gypsy gps apps

I'm far from a techie but I can tell you that there is no network signal anywhere in between the cities in the Rockies. Unless it preloaded I don't see how it would work. Gypsy normally rents the entire unit then gets the signal by satellite, but if downloading it I don't have a clue how you'd get a signal. I can tell you that there is no cellalr between Lk Louise and Jasper.

Mentioned in this post
Jasper
Jasper
Jasper National Park, Canada
Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver
Level Contributor
64,184 posts
63 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: gypsy gps apps

I answered on your Canada Forum thread, but have just been thinking a bit. I have an iPad without wireless capability, which means I have to find coffee shops, restaurants etc so I can use their wifi hotspots. The 3G model was just that much more expensive and I can easily find coffee shops.