We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

driveing Vancouver to Bridge lake

Caloundra, Australia
4 posts
Save Topic
driveing Vancouver to Bridge lake

We live in Queensland Australia and never see snow in this state. We will be in Vancouver for December January and have the opportunity to travel to Bridge Lake to stay for a couple of days. We have been advised to travel on highway 1via Hope to Cache Creek then highway 97 to 100 mile turn right into highway 24 to Interlakes.

I have no experience in the snow. I have driven nemerous miles in semi-trailers and towing 20 feet caravan. The vehicle we will be in is a range rover but I don't know the specs i.e all wheel drive ect. Should we attempt this trip at this time of the year and is the best way to go.

Thanks

John Halpin

Caloundra QLD Australia

Port Moody, Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
11,738 posts
145 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: driveing Vancouver to Bridge lake

If you have plenty of time and can go when the weather is good then you could do this trip. The roads willg enerally be plowed and sanded. Normally I'd say without winter driving experince to not go but isince you appear to have lots of diriving experience. I'd say yes you could do the trip. Drive only in the day time and only go if the weather is good. You can check www.drivebc.com for weather reports and highway cams. The route suggested would be the best although the Fraser canyon can be slow. You will avoid the Coquahalla which is much higher elevation.