We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Small private party / memorial

Which Vancouver hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
england
Level Contributor
305 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Small private party / memorial

Hi,

I live in the UK, but have to fly to Vancouver to organise a funeral for my Dad - something I have little experience of. I would appreciate any recommendations for a function room / private room in a restaurant for a small gathering / memorial - 15 people approx. Somewhere relatively informal would suit best. Any ideas at all would really help.

Thank you,

Hugie

Vancouver, Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver
Level Contributor
56,211 posts
64 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Small private party / memorial

I'm sure this is not an easy time for you. There are some locations with garden settings (although there's not much "garden" happening here right now, as the snow or rain falls.)

I will assume you do not mean a funeral, with casket present, but more of a memorial get together with friends and family to remember your father.

Have a look at the following link:

www.vancouverdine.com/sequoia0group.aspx

The Tea House is in Stanley Park, Seasons in the Park is at Queen Elizabeth Park, Carderos is near Stanley Park.

There is also the Shaughnessy at Van Dusen Gardens. They have a large dining room but I am confident that they would know how to divide this space off very nicely for a small private function.

www.shaughnessyrestaurant.com/home_main.html

Of this selection, my vote would be for the Shaughnessy: easy parking, residential neighbourhood, lovely outlook into the gardens, nice ambiance. Second would be Carderos' with an outlook onto Vancouver harbour.

Vancouver BC
Destination Expert
for Vancouver
Level Contributor
8,868 posts
186 reviews
Save Reply