We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

road from Whistler to Kamloops - pls comment

Canada
Level Contributor
107 posts
3 reviews
Save Topic
road from Whistler to Kamloops - pls comment

I will be driving from Whistler to Kamloops (actually, Valemount where we are stopping for the night en route to Edmonton). I used to live in Vancouver and have driven the sea to sky many, many times (although haven't been up there for about 5 or 6 years). I have never driven through Pemberton, Lillooet, etc and have heard it is quite a narrow, winding mountain road. I am a good driver and not particularly nervous, but after a few comments I am wondering about this route. I have a good vehicle (small SUV) and don't mind taking my time, but would appreciate any comments about the drive. Maybe I would be more comfortable going back through Vancouver?? (although this would add a significant amount of time onto the trip).

Port Moody, Canada
Destination Expert
for Vancouver, British Columbia
Level Contributor
11,934 posts
145 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: road from Whistler to Kamloops - pls comment

Check this web site for photos of the hwy and the area. I think you will be fine..especially if you used to drive the sea to sky!

…intergate.ca/personal/pl8s/BC99/hwy_99_5.htm

Kamloops, Canada
Level Contributor
561 posts
3 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: road from Whistler to Kamloops - pls comment

When are you travelling? as season of travel can be a major concern on this section of highway.

Whistler
Level Contributor
12 posts
22 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: road from Whistler to Kamloops - pls comment

I love that road.