We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Performance/Demo Ski Rentals or Sport/Beginner Ski Rentals?

Olathe, KS
Level Contributor
62 posts
18 reviews
Save Topic
Performance/Demo Ski Rentals or Sport/Beginner Ski Rentals?

Family of 4 hopefully coming to Whistler in Mid March.

Decent skiers - we have normally used our own equipment (Older stuff) and I'm trying to determine if we need performance equipment or sport equipment.

We can get down anything for the most part, but we do ok on blue to easier black runs in Colorado. Can handle some bumps and really steep runs, but I'm not very good at Steep & Bumpy anymore.

Is it worth the extra $ for the performance ski's?

Your advice is appreciated.

Flatlander

Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13,179 posts
65 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Performance/Demo Ski Rentals or Sport/Beginner Ski Rentals?

Ask the rental operator when you get there. Tey will know the mountain and will be familiar with their own equipment.

NYC, USA
Level Contributor
156 posts
52 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Performance/Demo Ski Rentals or Sport/Beginner Ski Rentals?

Interesting question. We usually bring our equipment because we are so accustomed to it. This is the first year we are renting. In our case we are renting demo skis which, I believe is the top level of the 3 typically rented. We're doing this because we found the same skis as ours from one vendor.