We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

9 day trip in Nova Scotia

Manistique, Michigan
Level Contributor
91 posts
66 reviews
Save Topic
9 day trip in Nova Scotia

We were planning to spend about 9 days in Nova Scotia in late August of this year. Were thinking about taking 2 of those days to spend on PEI. My initial itineray included Advocate Harbour. One post on trip advisor said not to bother with Advocate Harbour that there wasn't much there. Any opinions on that? I am an avid photographer and both my husband and I love the outdoors. We are in our late 40's. We were planning on traveling from Halifax to Peggy's cove, Lunenburg to Digby, doing the Tidal Bore rafting in Maitland then up to Advocate Harbour back around to Pictou, then taking the ferry to PEI. The last 3 days we planned on touring the Northeast including Cape Breton, Louisborg, Cabot Trail, etc. If Advocate Harbour isn't worth stopping it would cut a good chunk of travel time of our schedule. Any opinons welcomed along with your opinions on the rest of our schedule.

Halifax
Level Contributor
691 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: 9 day trip in Nova Scotia

I am not sure the context of individual who said not to bother with Advocate but based on your interests I would think it would be one of the highlights of your trip.

There is a fabulous restaurant/ Inn there titled Wild Caraway not to be missed. Also visit to Joggins and Cap D'or. There ia a detailed trip report titled Maritime Adventure Part 1-4, insert in search box just below. This is description from a discerning traveller, they spent alot of time researching area where to stay ,dine etc. I am sure you would find helpful.

The other highlight of your trip I'm sure will be Cape Breton and Cabot trail.