We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ferry from Caribou, NS to Woods Island, PEI

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
31 posts
12 reviews
Save Topic
Ferry from Caribou, NS to Woods Island, PEI

Hello everyone.

I am going to travel east coast by driving in July with my family. We planed to enter PEI by a ferry and leave there by Confederation bridge. I studied that it is free to enter PEI but pave to pay when you leave.

I heard that reservation for ferry is recommanded during the busy season. Threrfore I went on the Northumberland Ferries Limited web site to book but noticed that you can book for only round trip. So I phoned them and explained my situation. The lady on a line said that if people want guarantee for their spot, you make reservation and you have to pay. This is non refundable. It will cost about $77 for my family. If you don't want to pay, you have to arrive the port early due to "first come first served". The lady said that bad scenario sometimes happen if you don't book. If you are lucky, you can get on next ferry but if you are unlucky, have to wait till next day or whenever you can get on....

I don't want to be super stingy to mess our trip plan. But since I know that we are obliged to pay only when we leave PEI, $77 for ferry and $44.50 for the brige seem bit too expensive.

Any thoughts or experience stories would be much appreciated. Thank you.

Marietta, Georgia
Level Contributor
153 posts
Save Reply
1. Re: Ferry from Caribou, NS to Woods Island, PEI