We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Recommended 2-day itinerary from Dingwall to Halifax?

Washington DC...
3 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Recommended 2-day itinerary from Dingwall to Halifax?

We're planning a 7-night trip to Cape Breton in mid-August, arriving and departing from Halifax. We'll make the long drive north, then spend our first five nights in Dingwall (at the Markland); we'll go hiking, biking, whale-watching, etc. Next, we have two days and two nights to make our way back to Halifax. Ideally we'd like to spend a day in a Francophone area (maybe Cheticamp - is it very touristy? How is the Festival de l'Escaouette?). We might also try to find a salmon fishing guide who could work with two complete beginners for a half day. We'll need to leave a half-day for the drive south. And we'd like stroll around Halifax and have dinner there before our morning flight the next day. This may be too much to squeeze in.... Grateful for any and all suggestions.

Nova Scotia
Destination Expert
for Nova Scotia
Level Contributor
11,670 posts
168 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Recommended 2-day itinerary from Dingwall to Halifax?

I don't find Cheticamp too touristy which is why I recommend it. You will get a peek at Acadian culture. Perhaps you can read this recent thread and contact Yvette for more information: tripadvisor.ca/ShowTopic-g154967-i326-k65572…

For salmon fishing, I can't help you but the Margaree area is famous for this and there are guides.

You can get to Halifax in a few hours from there and stroll the wonderful waterfront.

Washington DC...
3 posts
2 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Recommended 2-day itinerary from Dingwall to Halifax?

Very helpful, Maryann - thanks. I forgot to ask in my original post: Any strong recommendations for lodging in or near Cheticamp and Halifax?

Nova Scotia