We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Planning a trip in January

buffalo
2 posts
Save Topic
Planning a trip in January

I was wondering if anyone had opinions or advice for me. I am trying to plan an anniversary weekend at NOTL. I am a medical student, so money is on the tighter side of things but i still want it to be a special weekend. I heard the ice wine festival is in january....does anyone have any info on that, and is NOTL worth visiting in the winter months? Also, I am thinking about doing a winery tour, looking for a spa where we can get a massage, as well as somewhere nice to eat. If anyone has any inexpensive ideas, please let me know. Thanks

London, Canada
Level Contributor
3,759 posts
69 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Planning a trip in January

Hi DrR.

This information is from niagaraonthelake.com:

"For ten days in January the Niagara region is transformed into a wintry wonderland, celebrating one of Canada’s most cherished products, Ontario Icewine. Grape and Wine Partners. www.niagarawinefestival.com "

The dates given are for January 13-22 so you'd have two weekends to choose from. If you were coming from a distance I'd be hesitant about making plans in the winter but since you're likely accustomed to Buffalo driving it won't be a problem just crossing the bridge.

Niagara Falls will be beautiful and Niagara on the Lake very charming in the winter, especially with the ice wine festival on. However, Niagara on the Lake is not inexpensive.

The accomodations are less costly during the week if you check rates but if you can't splurge on a hotel, there are some very nice B&B's that people here have recommended. Check some recent past posts for names, but I think Lakefield is one that was given a very favorable review in the past few weeks. There are many others though.