We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Budgeting

Which Ottawa hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
1,256 posts
1 review
Save Topic
Budgeting

Is it possible to survive on $40 a day for food?

Food wise, I am a student so I'm not overly fussy about where I eat. I would quite happily eat in fast food restaurants for most of my trip if it meant saving money, then maybe go to a couple of American cuisine restaurants throughout my trip. Is this do-able on my budget? Also, can anybody recommend nice restaurants to try within my budget if this is do-able? Nothing adventurous, I'm a very fussy eater!

Also, can I expect to visit a responsible amount of tourist-y places for an additional $40 a day? Would this budget be cutting off any of the major must-do places?

Thanks in advance

P.S. Is monopalatte really as awesome as it seems? Lol

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
1,054 posts
6 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Budgeting

It is possible. You should even have enough to eat at a regular restaurant for dinner. But that will not include any alchol. For a good prices, and not totally fast food Tim Hortons is the place to go.

Most museums are around $10 to go into. The "Government" things like Parliment Hill, Supreme Court are all free to enter. If you want to see alot of museums there is a pass that can be bought that includes entrance to many places over a week or two week period. (I think it is called the Capital Pass, but you will have to look it up)

Jasper, Canada
Destination Expert
for Jasper, Jasper National Park, Canadian Rockies
Level Contributor
17,734 posts
107 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Budgeting

You can also keep your food budget down (and your nutrition levels up) by supplying some meals from grocery stores, especially breakfast, lunch and snacks.