We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Canada Day!

Which Ottawa hotels are on sale?
dd/mm/yyyy dd/mm/yyyy
See hotels
Washington DC...
Level Contributor
41 posts
Save Topic
Canada Day!

I am new to Canada and me and my Canadian wife are planning on visiting around Canada Day. I know it will be busy and therefore probably very expensive. Does anyone have any tips on cheap(er) places to stay and what are must dos in Ottawa? Thanks.

Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
2,402 posts
63 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Canada Day!

I suggest you find out how expensive by going to booking.com, put in your dates and see what shows. If you find any within your price range, we may be able to comment on location or convenience to centretown.

There is a "things to do" that you can click on in the green banner at the top of this page.

As we get closer to the date, the Canadian Heritage (organizers of the Canada Day event) website will become more useful, http://www.pch.gc.ca/eng/1379430367090

SE Ontario
Level Contributor
17,614 posts
14 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Canada Day!

Yes ... a $$ budget would be helpful ...

If you do a search for Canada Day in the search box above, you'll find tons of previous posts and threads on this subject - lots of info there.

Also keep a watch on the very excellent Ottawa tourism site, which amongst other things also includes stay and see packages.

http://www.ottawatourism.ca/en/

Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
46 posts
118 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Canada Day!

If you're looking to save money on a hotel for Canada Day, I suggest staying just out of downtown. You can save a fair amount of money. Many hotels are on or near the transit way so you'd be a 20 minute (max) bus ride from downtown. I never suggest driving downtown on Canada Day it is just a zoo.

Ottawa
Level Contributor