We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Train from Windsor to Toronto

Rochester Hills...
Level Contributor
141 posts
38 reviews
Save Topic
Train from Windsor to Toronto

I live north of Detroit and may have the need to do some weekly commutes up to Toronto. Any experience on the general quality of service on this route with such things as on time performance, ability to work on train, etc......???

The quality of train service in the USA with AMTRAK is generally poor as compared to other countires, but I have no experience with Canadian rail.

Also, is there much of a difference between economy and business class (besides cost) ?

Any feedback would be appreciated. Thanks !

IMB

Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
993 posts
73 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Train from Windsor to Toronto

I've done this route, both ways, several times. Business class is ok when you can book it far enough in advance to get the deep discount fare. Basically you get a meal (similar to what an economy meal used to be like on legacy airlines) and drinks. They'll serve you quite a bit if you like. I've never sat in the business car when there has been more than 10 passengers. You have plenty of room to work.

Economy is usually quite crowded, and cramped as well. I've used my netbook without any problems in terms of space. It's more room than your average airline economy seat, but it is quite no-frills. They come around with a food/drink cart but I never pay much attention to what's on it.