We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

help on deciding where to spend the new year's eve

Reno, Nevada...
Level Contributor
21 posts
7 reviews
Save Topic
help on deciding where to spend the new year's eve

Hi! This is my first time traveling to east coast of US and Canada with friends from 12/20-1/5, but we have a big dilemma here. We will be in NYC till Christmas and leave to Niagara falls on the 26th, then 28th, 29th in Toronto. We want to go to Montreal after that, but from what I have read that Montreal really deserves more than a couple of days, so that means we have to miss the new year's Eve in NY.

So, if anyone who knows these places well can give me some of their thoughts about if going back to NY for the new year's eve would be the best thing or staying in Montreal or maybe Quebec city would be fun for New Year's eve too ?

Montreal, Canada
Destination Expert
for Quebec, Montreal, Quebec City, Mont Tremblant, Miami, Miami Beach
Level Contributor
12,147 posts
57 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: help on deciding where to spend the new year's eve

Well I lived in NYC over two NYE and both times we walked to, well I should say the far vicinity of Times Square and both times we decided to retreat home and look at it on TV. It is a zoo fueled by heavy drinking!

So if you are looking for that kind of experience then go but, otherwise I would say that you could head to Québec City to have a bit more of a quiet time but still with a lot of reveling. Part of Grande Allée is closed to traffic, you have activities on the street and outdoor bars, etc. Even a Ferris Wheel! Last year they had Boy George as a DJ spinning the tables outdoor until the fireworks and then retreating into one of the clubs.