We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Township tour?

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
1,694 posts
77 reviews
Save Topic
Township tour?

We have decided against going to Robbin Islands, is that a sin?

But we are kind of interested in doing a Township tour. It just seems much more interesting and educational.

Should we do a township tour while we are in Cape Town? We have 4 days.

Can someone recommend a tour company to go with? We will have a rental car, but I understand we should only go to the townships with a tour.

north yorkshire
Level Contributor
1,224 posts
135 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Township tour?

I'm with you on Robben Island. We did a half-day township tour (with District 6 museum) with Hylton Ross in 2008 - other than that I have no experience.

Gold Coast...
Destination Expert
for Kruger National Park
Level Contributor
4,946 posts
24 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Township tour?

Hi again

Yes you do need a guide to visit the townships.

We used Hylton Ross. Although they are big tour company the one we did was just two couples in a small van, and quite intimate. It was half day tour but we covered quite a lot of ground and saw much more than we expected.

The guide took us to the district six museum first which we found very interesting then on to the townships. We had a few stops, including visiting a day care type centre and a witchdoctor !

We really liked that the guide was from the area we visited, he knew lots of people and was very knowledgable, and we felt perfectly safe.

We also only had four days and did not get to Robben Is, it just depends on time and weather really and I think we learned a lot doing the tour. [BTW we didn't tour Alcatraz when we were in California either,lol]

San Jose, California
Level Contributor
1,694 posts
77 reviews
Save Reply