We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Is an Inn a bed and breakfast?

Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
128 posts
41 reviews
Save Topic
Is an Inn a bed and breakfast?

I am just beginning to research for a possible trip to Cape Cod in June 2012 for 4 fifty-ish women. I have looked at reviews of numerous lodgings, and I am getting the impression that on Cape Cod, the numerous "inns" are similar to a bed and breakfast. Am I right in that thought?

Would appreciate any advice about a place to stay that would be close to one of the many small villages with easy access to other places. We will fly into Providence, RI so will have a car. We enjoy sight-seeing, shopping, eating and just relaxing. When we travel we usually stay at a mid-priced hotel for the area. A suite would be nice, but not a requirement. Thanks!

Buffalo
Destination Expert
for Buffalo
Level Contributor
2,316 posts
55 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Is an Inn a bed and breakfast?

Most inns where we've stayed do offer breakfast, but some don't. We love the Tern Inn in West Harwich (www.theterninn.com), which I've reviewed here on TripAdvisor. It's in a great location for exploring either end of the Cape. They offer inn rooms or cottages. Although the cottages do not include breakfast, you might ask about renting the Seagull (three bedrooms, bathroom, kitchenette and living room) and adding the breakfast option for an extra charge.

conn
Level Contributor
1,601 posts
141 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Is an Inn a bed and breakfast?

My definition is: A Bed and breakfasts are generally a home where rooms are rented and breakfast served by the homeowner. An Inn is usually larger building in which rooms are rented like a hotel would, it would also offer more amenities.

Buffalo
Destination Expert
for Buffalo
Level Contributor
2,316 posts
55 reviews