We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Cost of Week Trip

Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
34 posts
Save Topic
Cost of Week Trip

I am planning to spend a week in UK around Christmas time. Of course my air travel will have been paid. I will not rent a car since I don't have a UK driver's license. But of course will need lodging, meals and taxi or railway funds and spending money. I will have an American credit card also. I am trying to get a ball park figure so I can save for the trip. I am a student in the US so inexpensive lodging is desired. I will be in the Manchester area.

Mentioned in this post
Manchester
Manchester
Greater Manchester, UK
Southampton
Level Contributor
4,876 posts
25 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Cost of Week Trip

Impossible to say! We have no idea how long you want to stay, what you want to see or where you want to travel.

Since many things will be closed over Christmas (and no public transport from early evening on24th December until the morning of 26th Dec) you could easily sit in your room watching tv and eating pot noodles so you won't spend much at all. This wouldn't be a very fun holiday (unless you really love tv repeats) but it would be cheap.

Why do you want to visit Manchester? There must be a reason. This reason almost certainly costs money. Add that to your calculations. Get a guide book. Make a list of all the places you want to visit. Check if any are open over Christmas (and if they are suitable in bad weather). Check the prices. Also check online the prices of rail/bus travel to the mystery places you want to see. Then add it all up.

A US driving licence is fine for driving in the UK. Do you really believe tourists have to take a driving test in every country before they hire a car? Of course not!

Mentioned in this post
Manchester
Manchester