We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Fishing boats

Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
116 posts
2 reviews
Save Topic
Fishing boats

Hi! We're not familiar with England at all, but we're going for several days next June - and I had a rather specific question. I'm an oil painter, and I particularly love to paint old fishing boats. I would like to get some (a lot) of reference photos for paintings to be done in my studio. I think I've heard that Cornwall would be the best area of England for that. Can anyone suggest specific towns with boats with character? Out of Cornwall would be ok too. We're flying in to Gatwick, and can really go anywhere we want (no agenda yet, except boats!) Thanks so much!

Devizes, United...
Level Contributor
40,216 posts
340 reviews
Save Reply
1. Re: Fishing boats

Hi there

Cornwall is replete with fishing villages, most of which will have a few older boats in various stages of repair or simply falling to pieces. To start with...

Polperro

Mevagissey

Fowey

Cadgwith

Coverack

Port Isaac

Padstow

Mousehole

Mullion Cove

St Ives

Have a look, see what you think...40 or more photographic sets of most of the places I've mentioned

flickr.com/photos/…

East Sussex, United...
Level Contributor
5,231 posts
4 reviews
Save Reply
2. Re: Fishing boats

Although you have posted this in the Cornwall forum you do indicate you would consider other locations as well.

In addition to the excellent lists above I would highly recommend Hastings which is home to Europes largest beach based fishing fleet, and is approximately 40 miles from your arrival airport of Gatwick.

1066online.co.uk/hastings-photos/FishingBoat…

Sheffield
Level Contributor
4,328 posts
137 reviews
Save Reply
3. Re: Fishing boats